Public Affairs Reporting Scholarships

Contact information

Website: www.uis.edu/par Email: par@uis.edu Phone: (217) 206-7494 Office Location: UHB 3016

Several scholarship programs are earmarked for graduate students in the Public Affairs Reporting program. The annual awards are based on academic achievement, financial need and potential for a career in journalism. For more information, contact the director of the Public Affairs Reporting program.

• Mark D. Allan PAR Scholarship:

 Established by Mr. Allan, a 1986 Public Affairs Reporting graduate and former director of marketing and public relations at Butler University.

· James E. Armstrong Scholarship:

Established in memory of the late publisher of the Illinois
 State Register and the Illinois State Journal, predecessors of
 The State Journal-Register in Springfield.

• Mary and Jim Beaumont Public Affairs Reporting Scholarship

 Established by Mary and Jim Beaumont. Mary has a graduate degree in Communication from UIS and Jim has a graduate degree in Public Affairs from UIS.

• Rich Bradley Memorial Scholarship Fund:

 Established by friends and colleagues of the longtime news director at WUIS, Springfield's public radio station. Mr. Bradley was a strong supporter of PAR and mentored many PAR interns.

• Class of 1986 Scholarship Fund:

 Established by members of the PAR Class of 1985-86, the fund supports PAR students who have demonstrated commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion.

• Mary Frances Fagan PAR Memorial Scholarship:

 Established by friends in memory of Ms. Fagan, a 1983 Public Affairs Reporting graduate. Fagan served as assistant press secretary for Govs. Jim Thompson and Jim Edgar. Her career included 23 years as a spokesman for American Airlines.

· Steven B. Hahn Reporting Scholarship:

 Established by his parents in his memory. Hahn was a legislative correspondent for The State Journal-Register and United Press International.

· Robert P. Howard Scholarship:

 Established by friends in memory of the late Capitol correspondent for the Chicago Tribune and author of Illinois, A History of the Prairie State.

Illinois Legislative Correspondents Association (ILCA) / Miller and Heinecke Scholarship:

 Established in honor of Burnell A. Heinecke, a former Chicago Sun-Times Statehouse correspondent and former ILCA president and Bill Miller, former director of the PAR program and founding member of the Illinois News Broadcasters Association.

• International Student Scholarship Fund:

 This fund supports scholarships for international students enrolled in the PAR program.

• Lee Milner Memorial Scholarship Endowment Fund:

 Established in memory of the longtime photojournalist, legislative coordinator and communications professional who befriended and guided many PAR Students.

• Vu Nguyen Scholarship:

• Established in memory of a 2008 PAR graduate who served as an education reporter for the *Daily Breeze* in Torrance, CA.

· Douglas H. Pokorski Scholarship in Public Affairs Reporting:

 Established in memory of a veteran journalist for The State Journal-Register known for his coverage of education and history.

• Public Affairs Reporting Memorial Scholarship Fund:

 This fund supports scholarships for students admitted into the Public Affairs Reporting program.

• Thom M. Serafin Public Affairs Reporting Scholarship:

 Made possible through a gift from Thom Serafin, a 1974 PAR graduate whose distinguished career includes founding and serving as CEO of Serafin and Associates, Inc., serving as press secretary for several national-level political campaigns and serving on the Washington D.C. staff of U.S. Sen. Alan Dixon.

• Valerie Wiener Award:

 Made possible through a gift from Valerie Wiener, a former member of the Nevada state senate and founder/CEO of her own consulting firm specializing in media relations, positioning strategies and power presentations.